

Memorandum

UNIVERSITY SECRETARIAT	То:	Deans and Associate Deans Research Department Chairs Directors of Research Centres and Institutes
4700 KEELE ST. TORONTO ON CANADA M3J 1P3	From:	Mehrani Ebrahimi, Chair, Senate Committee on Awards
CANADA MISJ 1P3	Date:	September 27, 2024
T 416 736 5310 F 416 736 5094	Subject:	Call for nominations for 2024-2025 President's Research Awards
vorku.ca/secretariat		

The Senate Committee on Awards encourages you to submit nominations for the three President's Research Awards and to promote the submission of nominations among your colleagues.

The Committee wishes to remind you of the two disciplinary clusters introduced in the 2018-2019 competition, applicable to the President's Emerging Research Leadership Award and the President's Research Excellence Award: 1) Engineering, Science, Technology, Health and Biomedicine, and 2) Social Sciences, Arts & Design, Humanities, Business, Law and Education.

The **President's Emerging Research Leadership Award** (PERLA) recognizes full-time faculty members within 10 years of their first academic appointment, who have had a notable impact on their field(s) and made a significant contribution to advancing the University's international reputation for research excellence while significantly and positively contributing to one or more aspects of the York community's intellectual life.

The PERLA will be conferred to two researchers annually, one from each disciplinary cluster. In cases where there is ambiguity regarding the appropriate cluster, the nominee may include a rationale.

The **President's Research Impact Award** recognizes full-time, active faculty members whose body of research or scholarship has translated into a notable impact on communities, individuals, public policies or practice beyond academe, or translated successfully into impactful commercial or other applications, while significantly and positively contributing to the University's research culture and reputation.

The **President's Research Excellence Award** (PREA) recognizes senior full-time faculty at the rank of Professor, with distinguished scholarly achievements who have had a notable impact on their field(s) and made a significant contribution to advancing the University's international reputation for research excellence while significantly and positively contributing to one or more aspects of the York community's intellectual life.

The PREA will be conferred in alternating years between the two disciplinary clusters. **The 2024-2025 PREA will be open to Cluster 2: Social Sciences, Arts & Design, Humanities, Business, Law and Education**. In cases where there is ambiguity regarding the appropriate cluster, the nominee may include a rationale. Reflecting on the nomination criteria regarding the nominee's research achievements and demonstrated leadership as a contributor to York's intellectual community, nominators are encouraged to highlight the nominee's production of scholarship or creative contributions through public service and community engagement, scholarly publication, or the production of works of art.

The criteria and nomination forms can be found on the <u>Senate Committee on Awards</u> <u>webpage</u>. The deadline for receipt of nominations is **Wednesday, November 13, 2024 at 4:30 pm**. Nominations should be submitted via MachForm available on the Awards webpage. Alternatively, nomination packages may be submitted to the Committee Secretary at <u>jpratt@yorku.ca</u>.

York strongly values diversity and equity within its research community and encourages nominations of those who are under-represented in recent competitions.

President's Emerging Research Leadership Award

President's Research Impact Award

President's Research Excellence Award

With Best Wishes,

Mehraneh Ebrahimi, Ph.D.

Chair, Senate Committee on Awards

Associate Professor Department of English York University mehr@yorku.ca